Wk10 – Activity – Location Based Gaming

IMG_0968
My geocache.

For this week’s activity we were to use the Geocaching App to find a geocache and to hide our own.  I think Geocaching is a cool idea because even though you aren’t necessarily finding anything of value in these caches its still kind of an adventure trying to find them.

Personally I enjoyed finding the geocaches more than hiding them.  I wasn’t much of a fan of having to try and figure out what I wanted to put in my cache.  But I eventually just found a bunch of random stuff from my room to put into my cache.  The next thing I had trouble with was trying to find a good place to hide my cache.  I was initially having some trouble because I was apparently too close to another cache so I moved to another location.  Although I was able to submit my cache for review on Geocaching.com my cache still seems to be too close to another one so unfortunately my cache still hasn’t been published (but here’s the link to my geocache anyway: https://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_details.aspx?wp=GC662EA&title=csulb-library&guid=f3bfe5c3-0aa7-4d95-af22-384547e78207).

IMG_0978

Like I stated earlier I really enjoyed finding the caches because it was kind of exciting going on a scavenger hunt of sorts.  Although I may not go out of my way to constantly look for new caches, if I’m ever near one I might go check it out.  But for this activity I found the geocache that was hidden at the pyramid at school.  After getting to the generally location of where the cache was hidden it didn’t take long for me to find it.

This activity was pretty interesting, but I felt like the process of trying to publish your own geocache was a little tedious.  I also thought it was a little inconvenient that you weren’t able to use the app to make your own geocache.  I think it also would have been nice if you were able to get your coordinates off of the app or website rather than having to look up them up.  Besides these small complaints I thought the activity we was pretty enjoyable and maybe do it again sometime.

IMG_0966
The cache I found.
Leave a Reply

