Wk9 – Classmate Conversation – Suhyun Kim

FullSizeRender
Suhyun and myself outside the galleries.

For this week’s classmate conversation I met Suhyun Kim.  Suhyun graduated from Fairfax High School in 2014 and is currently a second year at Cal State Long Beach.  At the moment she is undeclared, but after this semester she will be done with her G.E.s so she’ll have to decide what she wants to major in soon.  Suhyun also commutes to CSULB like myself, but she commutes from Los Angeles so I can imagine that traffic must be horrendous!

Suhyun said that she likes to listen to music which is probably one of the reasons she works at a music store.  Later in our conversation I asked her what are somethings she likes to do and she said that she loves going to the aquarium.  I thought this was awesome because I too love going to the aquarium!  I honestly always loved aquariums and as a child my parents used to take me all the time.  My favorite part was going to the touch-tanks and putting your finger between the sea urchin’s spins, I used to think they were hugging me.  (It wasn’t until I got older and realized that their spins move around your finger because they think you are food and are essentially trying to eat you.)  Suyhun also said that she isn’t much of a beach person because she doesn’t really like the sun.  I can kind of relate because I’m not much of a beach person either, but for me its all the sand I don’t like.

For this week’s question of the week “After visiting many galleries and seeing the artists’ different art pieces, what is your favorite type and why?”  Suhyun said that her favorite medium is painting because she feels that you can express yourself the most clearly through painting.  She explained that with painting since the colors can be mixed this allows them to be used very differently.  She also pointed out that all the details in a painting can be seen.

Although we didn’t talk for long, Suhyun seems like a very nice person so if you get the chance you should definitely do your next classmate conversation with her!

Leave a Reply

