Wk8 – Classmate Conversation – Grace Kim

FullSizeRender-2
Grace and myself outside the galleries.

For this week’s classmate conversation I met Grace Kim.  Grace is from Los Angeles, CA and graduated from Laces High School.  She is currently finishing up her last semester at Cal State Long Beach as a Chinese Studies major.  During our conversation I asked Grace what made her decide to major in Chinese Studies.  She responded by saying that she sees languages as “the window into another culture” which got her interested in other languages, more specifically Chinese.

Grace told me that she loves to learn languages, so of course I had to ask her if she is actually fluent in multiple languages.  I was expecting a response of two maybe three, but she told me she knows four languages (English, Korean, Arabic, and Chinese) which is quite impressive if I do say so myself!

When Grace isn’t learning new languages she enjoys playing guitar, singing, and researching random topics.  So she is obviously quite musically talented where as I am probably one of the least musically talented people ever.  During our conversations we also got onto the topic of the weather and we both agreed that we can’t wait for it to start cooling down.  Neither of us really enjoy hot humid weather, we both prefer the cooler cloudy weather of fall.

For this week’s question of the week “After visiting the galleries and seeing different art work, how does anything you see in this work of art remind you of something else you have seen or experienced?” Grace and I agreed that it depends on what kind of art we’re looking at.  She says that each piece refers to a different memory which she can then pinpoint something it reminds her of.

I’m really glad that I had the pleasure to meet Grace this week, from what I got from our conversation she seems like a really cool person.  And I’m sure we’ll talk again at some point throughout the semester.

Leave a Reply

